Many people try to look younger than they really are. For what reasons do you think people try to look younger than they are? Is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Aging is a biological process, and it is natural for every living thing to age. However, humans tend to defy the natural progression and try to look younger than their actual biological age. In fact, there are many reasons for this human quest and the effects of it can be both positive and negative on individuals and on our society in general.

One of the main reasons for the desire to look young is for self-esteem and subjective well-being. This tends to create mindset that “young is beautiful” and hence the race to look young. Today, women for example use make up and facelift stickers to look attractive and hiding their real age. This often boosts one’s confidence and hence a trend to look younger in our societies.

On the other hand, resorting to surgical procedures is just not a celebrity trend but it is growing among the youngsters too. It is not just women; men are going under the knife to look younger. The invasive procedures have consequences in terms of health. For instance, famous influencer Joselyn Cano died at the age of 30 after botched surgery. Hence it can be dangerous if people get too obsessed to look younger.

In conclusion, humans are not limited to evolution needs of just adapting and reproducing, many believe in perceived attractiveness in looking young. It can be a good thing to boost confidence by using makeup or changing the hair colour or injecting Botox. However, the negative health implications cannot be ignored. In my opinion, it is important to understand that ageing is a natural process and accept the growing process that comes with aging.