Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on young children.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Experts throughout the developing and developed word have debated whether computers benefit or harm our descendants. Alongside the arguments on both sides, the latest discoveries from the Hong Kong Family Committee has casted light on this question regarding its academic advantages and general change of interpersonal skills acquired by children under 12. This essay will discuss both views using these examples to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the convenience offered by computers is intuitively perceived as the benefits for juniors. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly children can gain access to various kinds of entertainment entailing musics, videos and games. Secondly, the accessibility to the Internet ameliorate the academic pressure. In fact, the majority of junior learners spend more time on analysis and comparison rather than searching books in library. Consistent with this line of thinking is that children would be more available to enjoy entertaining activities and exercises. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that computers pave the way for the personal development of children.

Although there is a case for children to adopt a healthy lifestyle, the impact of computers cannot be overstated, in particular the problem of social isolation. This is largely because the games presented in computers are mostly additive, which then deter our children from leaving the computer screen and participating in social activities. For instance, an extensive study from the Committee established that the average level of their interpersonal skill weakened in recent decades. It must not be forgotten that although some children are not obsessed about video games, the pervasive use of emoji and misspelt words on instant messaging software stands in the way of language acquisition. Consequently, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the restriction of use of computer, to a considerable extent, could counteract these drawbacks.

In conclusion, although the immediacy and convenience of information exchange facilitate the learning process of children, the overuse of computer in their formative years often cast detrimental effects that generally outweigh its upside. Having said that, given that more books are published online, it is predicted that the frequency of using computers by children will be increased in the foreseeable future.