Video records are a better way to learn about the way other people in the world live rather than written documents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the digital age, it is widely held that videos are more useful in comprehending the diverse lifestyles of people around the world, compared to written papers. While I agree that video documentaries can hold some advantages, I do not agree that it is superior than written ones.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that video records are visually informative and takes minimum effort to produce. The first worth-mentioning fact is that sometimes written papers are not able to convey all the backgrounds and activities within our daily lives but with videos, we can view the contents clearly. For example, it will be easier to understand the way a person in other part of the world dances by watching a documentary, rather than reading a description. Furthermore, technological advancement has allowed us to film a lengthy video just by our smartphones or tablets, which are more convienient and less time-consuming than producing written papers. In addition, we can capture everything we observe at the moment without having to memorize it.

On the other hand, I believe that written documents bring about an immense amount of positive impact that can not be replaced by other tools. It is clear that before electronic devices and cameras are invented, every knowledge about the way of living that the prior generation has perceived is written in books and journals. Thus, these papers contain valuable sources of information and hold historical meanings in terms of the global culture.

As a result, we should research and study carefully about these documents before digital ones. Moreover, in written papers, all the thoughts and opinions of the authors are depicted within the words, which can be more informative and insightful than typical videos. Hence, it is more worthwile for students or researchers to learn about other cultures through the pages.

In conclusion, while some individuals regard videos as a more effective method to learn about other parts of the world rather than written papers, I would advocate that studying the diverse ways of living via writtings is more favourable.