Walking is known to beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to this problem?

In modern society, how people keep their health is always controversial and walking is widely known as one of the ways to make people stay healthy. However, the number of people who choose to walk is on the decrease. In this essay, I shall shed some light on why people choose not to walk and suggest the solution.

To begin with, it is true that walking is one of the best ways to keep fit. However, in this modern world, people tend to prefer not walking. In my opinion, the primary reason for this social tendency is the growth of public transportation as well as technology. For example, in Japan, the possession rate of the car recorded over 85 per cent in 2017 as the cost of the car is getting cheaper and everybody can afford it. In addition to this, there are many train stations in the city and the trains much more often run than in the past. These definitely make people stay from walking and lead to several health issues such as obesity.

In order to deal with this situation, I strongly believe that the most effective way is that the government raise the cost of petrol or a fee for public transportation. In fact, in Malaysia, the government levy 50 per cent of tax on the car so that there are a lot of cases that people cannot buy it. In this situation, people do not have any options and they have to choose to walk. Therefore, raising up the fee of the car and public transportation is the best way to encourage people to walk.

In conclusion, the progress of technology is strongly related to the decrease in the number of people who walk. In order to solve this issue, governments should take more tax from the car or public transportation.