As the computer translates quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time?

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, with the growth of technology, the computer often has a great function of language translation and it can translate any languages accurately. In this situation, there are some people who argue that people do not need to learn a foreign language. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement.

To begin with, even though the computer can translate more quickly and accurately than in the past, its accuracy and speed are still poor when compared to people who can speak the language that they want to translate since computer needs to be typed letters in order to translate. For example, there is a lot of situation that needs to be progressed effectively such as an international business meeting. If people use the translator on the computer, it will take a longer time since the computer needs to be typed the language that people want to translate. In addition to this, according to some studies, people who learn several languages are unlikely to get the disease such as dementia than those who do not. Learning language stimulates people’s brain and strengthens the cognition ability of human beings. Therefore, it goes without saying that learning a language is very important and plays a crucial role in our society.

However, despite the fact that learning a language has a lot of benefits if people want to master the language, it takes such a long time. In fact, the researcher has shown in order to be the native level speaker, learner needs 5 years on average and in most cases, because of this, people have to study language as their major and they cannot study other things.

In conclusion, even though learning language has some drawbacks, I strongly believe that the advantages overwhelmingly outnumber the disadvantages.