Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters?

In times of extreme natural conditions, rich countries ought to help developing countries with financial aid. This essay agrees with this statement, firstly, because developed nations could provide essential supplies and secondly, the monetary support would help to restore infrastructure.

Developed countries would assist affected nations with important products and services. When extreme weather strikes, it is a moral duty to help those in need, and offer them the necessary items so they could surpass these hardships. Simple products such as canned food or clean water, along with medical assistance for those with serious health conditions, would make an enormous difference in the lives of those in need. For example, when Indonesia was hit by the tsunami in 2018, it received humanitarian support from the US, who sent multiple planes with food supplies, and doctors to take care of the people who suffered injuries.

Infrastructure would be repaired with external financial aid. After a natural disaster, it is very hard for a country to rebuild all its roads or buildings by itself, and foreign aid would help them to plan the reconstruction budget. By doing so, healthy nations would probably halve the times for reconstruction of the transport infrastructure and, repair or even build new hospitals or educational facilities. For instance, the European Union has the Cohesion Fund, which is specially designed to support poorer countries in times of famine, flood or drought.

In conclusion, first world nations ought to enable less developed countries to receive critical supplies and financial relief to underpin the reconstruction of destroyed infrastructure.