Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

Although it is sometimes thought that the environment is critically responsible for one’s intelligence, others consider that the key is represented by genetics. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, some people think that the genetic material transmitted from the parents to the child affects her or his acuity over time. Researchers say that there are numerous factors which are influencing intelligence, and that heredity has its role in this equation. In other words, various studies are showing, for instance, the similarities between the intellectual behaviour of adopted children and the one of their biological parents, even though they have lived separated. Furthermore, the emotional state of the mother during the pregnancy is believed to have an influence over the cognitive behaviour of her future baby, and that is why some of them are reading quality books or listening to music in that period.

On the other hand, others emphasize that the whole environment defines a person’s intelligence. For most well-rounded adults their presence of mind is something that they have improved during their school years, work and life experience. For example, people who learn to speak more languages are considered to have a higher IQ. Secondly, the home-environment is held accountable for the development of emotional intelligence, especially in childhood when parents have a major role in upbringing their children. Finally, nutrition is the one that secures the success of a person’s cognitive capacity thru its nutrients which are considered to be vital not only for the physical development but also for the mental growth. For instance, children with poor diet tend to underperform academically compared to those with a healthy diet.

In conclusion, I feel that the genetic inheritance responsible for intelligence is outweighed by the multiple environmental factors which are defining a person’s cleverness.