All societies have their own music and art. In what way are music and art important for society and for the individual?

Nations around the world have their personal music and fine arts. This essay will first discuss the importance of these artistic expressions on the society as a whole and then address the part of the question of how significant these free artistic expressions are for the individual.

Many nations worldwide are identified with their traditions and customs with the help of their music and arts. In a nation’s culture, many of its customs, rituals, and folklore are embedded in music and art. With the help of these tools, societies have been able to write their history throughout time and pass their knowledge about past experiences to future generations. For example, in Canada, many of the First Nations peoples use music to talk about their forebears and the way they see and perceive life and nature - which is a very distinctive feature of them.

The wellbeing of a person is influenced by creative arts and music. The use of arts and music help people express their feelings, relieve the stress caused by work and studies, and can even help them perform better in various tasks, whether there are academic or work-related. For instance, various studies show that children who follow arts tend to academically perform better in Mathematics because arts help them broaden their capacity of understanding abstract concepts.

In conclusion, every nation is identified with its music and art, while the harmonious development of an individual is directly connected with the integration of these expressive arts in one’s life.