As well as making money, businesses also have a responsibility towards society. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Many people believe that businesses should fulfill their duty towards society in addition to generating profit. In my view, I wholeheartedly agree as social responsibility can improve customers’ perception of a brand and can attract more shareholders.

Firstly, businesses undertaking social responsibility initiatives can improve their brand image. The reason behind this is that it builds public trust. By helping the community, by either donating money or volunteering, the company gains trust from its customers. According to a Cone Communication study, 87% of interviewed consumers would be willing to buy a product or service provided by a company that advocates concerning a social matter. As a result, in the long term, the company will become more and more popular and its brand image would be more prestigious and valuable in customers’ minds.

Secondly, taking community development into account might be attractive to investors or funds. Recently, sustainable investment is one of the most important criteria that financial investors are looking for when considering investing money into a company.This is because industrialization has resulted in many environmental issues such as: air pollution, sweat-box phenomenon, plastic waste or unemployment. This concern is perfectly exemplified in the case of Green Joy, as known as a grass straw manufacturing start up from Shark Tank Vietnam. The founder of this firm successfully raised over 4 billion VND in exchange for 33 percent of her company from Shark Lien who seriously cares about the environment.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I maintain that business should not only focus on generating revenue but also take action for the community's sake. It is advisable that companies can allocate a part of their profit to support local charity or use more eco-friendly material in manufacturing products.