Some think that climate change reforms will negatively affect business. Other feel they are an opportunity for business. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is true that the effects of new law on climate change on businesses has been a topic of debate. While there are several reasons to support the negative side, I am of the option that these changes could be beneficial to firm to some extent.

On the one hand, the fact that reforms on climate change would do more harm than good to businesses in reasonable to a certain extent. Firstly, to comply with new regulations, business might have to pay more carbon taxes, or invest in low-carbon production lines or green technologies. Thus, they would see a surge in their operational and investment cost. Another disadvantages is that law to accelerate the transition towards a low-carbon economy can cause a ripple effect on the economy. As traditional firm has to allocate their money to follow the eco-friendly economy trend, however, it would also incur in higher cost so the return on investment might decline, which may prevent them from repaying the debt to the banks.

Nevertheless, for several reasons I assert a belief that those reforms can provide businesses with better condition to develop. This would likely be a good chance for eco-friendly firms to gain benefits from their investment in green technologies. This can be perfectly exemplified in case of Tesla, which became the most valuable car maker in the world. On top of that, this also is an opportunity for carbon-intensive company to reshape their business model. As such, they will turn to invest more sustainably, which prevent them form climate change-related risks in the future.

In conclusion, although measures to mitigate climate change can negatively impact on business, I content that they are more beneficial to them and society in the long run. I predict that business will be likely to find a model to adapt with new regulations and orient themselves towards sustainable investment soon.