Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people

gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local

products?

Many people believe that consumers tend to purchase goods or services from large companies that strongly invest in marketing. There are several problems resulting from this practice, and steps should be taken by government to alleviate the problems.

As people tend to be attracted by the advertisements of large brand and consume their products, several problems can be anticipated. Firstly, product marketing can entice consumers to buy unnecessary items. This would lead to a detrimental shopping habit that wastes not only money but also time of customers. Secondly, marketing can be very expensive to businesses notably small firms. For example, each 30 seconds of TV commercial video worth millions to billions VND based on the frame of time it is broadcasted. As a result, the profit of firms could be significantly drained.

Fortunately, several measure could be taken to motivate consumers to support domestic goods and services. First of which is to organize awareness campaign in order to help the population understand the important of advocating local brands. Once these domestic firms gain more profit, they could provide better and better products or service to domestic market, which benefits consumers. Another solution is that government can subsidize small-medium-enterprises through fair trade reforms. As such, small local firms would have a opportunity to complete fairly with big ones.

In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of the way large companies do marketing and manipulate customers' demand, and appropriate steps need to be taken to encourage consumers to purchase domestic goods. It is predicted that in the near future, local firm will get more and more support and popularity.