As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that enterprises have to make money. Besides, they should have social responsibilities. I totally agree that they should conduct their businesses in social responsibilities manner.

I am in favour of the opinion that the efforts of companies to maximize their profits is likely to bring benefits for society. If corporations earn higher profits, they will pay more taxes to the government. Therefore, authorities have more revenue to spend in education, health care and improve infrastructure for the whole community. In addition, firms that earn huge money can expand their production. This may create more job opportunities, which helps deal with unemployment situation in big cities and raises living standard.

I am of the idea that businesses need have social responsibilities. Companies should not harm the environment. In fact, factories emissions and the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste results in serious environment degradation in many places around the world. This is one of reasons cause global warming. Besides, companies also should install waste treatment systems instead of discharging chemical wastes into rivers in order not to influence on the environment. Moreover, enterprises making huge profits should give back to the community through charitable donations and financial scholarships. For example, Unilever often enhances its image through philanthropic action like giving scholarships for poor children in developing countries.

In conclusion, although making profits is the fundamental principle of business, I agree that all companies should have social responsibilities.