What are the main differences between Asian and western weddings? Analyze the causes of that difference

The differences between Asian and western weddings based on the contraction from one’s customs. From my observations, two kinds of weddings leave me with this impression - In Asia, a wedding is an expansion of the family, while in the West, is it about starting a whole new family.

When it comes to Asian, or more specific, Chinese traditional culture, a wedding is not just a celebration of a couple getting married. In other words, it’s an icon of commitment and family’s pride - that’s why it has to be fancy and flashy. Additionally, organizers need to invite all of their acquaintances and relatives, cause it’s not just about the bride and groom, it is a huge meeting between two families going to unite. Plus, traditionality is extremely important to the mindset of Asians, so that a formal wedding has to keep all the customs of ancestors, such as ceremony, decorum, and even attendees’ demeanor during the wedding. If they do not follow all this stereotype, it could be considered as a disrespectfulness toward everyone. Cause, after all, people care about each other very much. In fact, you can’t even count their care.

On the other hand, western weddings tend to be more personal. They pay more attention to their individuality and they admire a marriage that is led from love instead of family interests. The bride and groom can pretty much do whatever they want and invite whoever they like to the wedding, cause obviously, it's their wedding. This is the time when almost no one is interested in the details, all they want is that the main characters feel happy and special. There is no rule or judgment here, everything is just a celebration with close friends and family.

However, to put in a nutshell, the thing in common between two weddings is that both are a day to remember. Both events celebrate marriage in its own way, which is a national identity and cultural diversity always needs to be preserved and appreciated.