When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the most principle element to contemplate when taking a career opportunity is remuneration. In my opinion, this remuneration may be the most vital fact for many people but there are a lot of the others to consider for the other people when they apply for a job.

There are some clear reasons why choosing a well remunerated job is important. Many people live on their remuneration. It will be difficult for them if the income is not enough to maintain a normal standard of living. The higher salary they earn, the better standard of living they have and the more comfortable life they can enjoy. Good salary level is also a positive motivation for people to acquire more skills and experience and move up the career ladder. Apart from the promotion in career, the motivation from salary to expand ability might contribute to make better reputation, from which employees can take countless opportunities in their life.

Sometimes, pursuing a successful career with a well remunerate job is not the important component for several people. Instead of that, they choose a job because this job satisfy all their desires, passions and requirements. For example, a person who loves machine may choose to be a mechanic rather than a computer engineer which has higher salary. If he believes that his mission is to contribute to the society, help and support people in hard situations or protect and conserve environment, he might want to be a social worker or an environmentalist and not consider too much the salary of these jobs. Job satisfaction is not less important than salary.

In conclusion, while I accept that many job seekers select their career because of salary level, I believe that some other people choose their job based on some other facts rather than salary.