When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days technology has become a cardinal part of people’s lives. It would be hard to imagine our lives without smartphones and computers. As technology is becoming ubiquitous traditional skills such as weaving are vanishing. Many individuals assert that there is no need to preserve these skills and culture; however, I completely disagree with this assertion as it would take away a nation’s identity in the long run.

To embark with, cultural values of a country provide discrete identity to the country on a global scale. Numerous nations still sustain their heritage and culture as without these elements they might lose their originality. For instance, most of the nations celebrate their Independence Day or other festivals which have certain historic value. If these values are not maintained countrymen may become unaware of the glory of their nations and war heroes. Therefore, efforts should be made in order to keep the culture alive.

In addition, conventional skills have the same level of importance. Skills such as weaving, pottery oak basket making should be sustained. Certainly, machines can outperform humans in these tasks, but it does not mean that individuals should forget these skills. A machine can never match the precision of a human mind. To exemplify, Indian weavers are still in huge demand due to their adroit weaving skills. Hence, if a state put some effort in keeping their traditional skills alive, it can obtain some significant benefits.

To conclude, even though a high tech country can be regarded as a successful and powerful, without preserving its culture and traditional values any country can lose their real identity and makes the entire progress futile.