Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question of whether some people’s success is mostly attributable to luck instead of their own hard work aroused people’s discussion. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this statement.

I am in favor the idea that only determined and industrious people will be successful in whatever they do. There are some salient examples, like Steve Jobs and Nick Vujicic. Steve Jobs spent thousands of hours coding and experimenting to bring out the great Macintosh operating system that we use today. Another clear case of success through determination is Nick Vujicic, an Australian motivational speaker, who suffered from a rare disorder which resulted in the absence of four limbs. Despite not having any hands or legs, Vujicic earned a bachelor degree with a double major in accountancy and financial planning; he had his own family, and now he travels around the world to inspire people as a motivational speaker.

Furthermore, I may argue that luck is only a small factor in determining one’s achievement. First, since hardworking people usually attain their goals, people cannot solely be reliant on luck to become successful. For example, if a student does not study for an exam, he or she will be fail, no matter how lucky he or she may be. Second, luck only contributes to short-term fortune. For example, a person who wins a lottery is definitely lucky because winning a lottery does not require you to do anything to earn it. However, because it purely depends on luck, he or she cannot win the lottery for the rest of his or her life.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that in order to achieve objectives in life, one must be extremely determined and hardworking to follow his or her passion till the end.