Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The following essay looks at both sides of the argument that the death penalty is necessary to keep our society under control. I completely agree with the view that without capital punishment we will become vulnerable to violence.

To start with, it is significantly said that some citizens will not support to let execution gain the best method to curb violence. Firstly, if a murderer has experienced of mental sickness, which means he or she will not be able to control their behaviours, some innocent people would be wrongly convicted and executed. Secondly, people who unpredictably commit the crime due to a lack of awareness do not serve to receive the death sentence. For example, an adolescent wants to return a bag to its owner but he was finally convicted of capital punishment as the bag contained more than 5 kilograms of drugs. In those cases, the death penalty is deemed too violent to punish a crime.

However, I believe that there are several times when it becomes essential to enforce the death sentence in society. Especially when we talk about a pathological criminal who is a serial killer or terrorist, capital punishment is the most effective method to make a sense of safety and security for residents. If the offenders do not face the death penalty, the court is not done to the victims and their families. On top of that, this will lead to counteracts of violence with revenge. Another factor to consider is that by imposing more serve punishments, the death sentence particularly on the lawbreakers, the government basically serves as a deterrent against similar unlawful activities. For instance, IS terrorism had been a terrible nightmare for the residents, until the government enforce the execution of members of the organisation, and the number of terrorists dropped by more than half.

To sum up, despite imposing the death penalty on a national law may lead to several conflicting opinions, it is still an efficient solution to control crimes and make the world a better place to live in.