The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population. This is causing problems not only for the poor, underdeveloped countries, but also for industrialised developed countries.

What are the problems that overpopulation causes? Give solutions.

ln most countries of the world, the population is increasing alarmingly. The problem of overpopulation has attracted growing concern among people of insight. This essay would like to discuss the issue and give possible solutions.

The most serious problem overpopulation can bring about lies in the fact that it is difficult to provide enough food to feed the ever-increasing population. While the food production keeps increasing with the development of science and technology in farming and animal husbandry, the population of the world has created even greater demand on food supply. Compounded by frequent natural disasters and famines, especially in Africa, it is not uncommon to find some people on the edge of starvation.

In addition, population explosion has exerted great pressure on infrastructure of any country. A large population means more demand for education, medical care, transport, and energy consumption. As a result, it is very difficult for governments to provide effective public services in crowded cities Moreover, there is usually a higher crime rate, attributable to high rates of unemployment, thus downgrading the quality of people's lives.

There are two major solutions to the overpopulation problem. Firstly, better education for women can reduce birth rate as more women will be busily engaged in work and they are lkely to have fewer children or delay their age of pregnancy. Another effective way may rest with the governments, which must educate their citizens about the dangers of a large pepulation and provide incentives to those who limit the size of their familes. For example, the Chinese gov- ernment has practised the policy of "One couple one child", which has achieved great success in the recent two decades in reducing the population. In return, the quality of life has been grealy improved in China.

In conclusion, therefore, overpopulation can lead to starvation and degradation of people's quality of life. If the world governments take effective measures, the werld population can be stabilised.