Write about the following topic.

Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary world where unimaginable inventions have been introduced to daily life, which eventually led ease of work to mankind. Now-a-days these little technologies are being included in almost every aspect of human life and some often consider this to be dominating over our daily needs and activities. Despite having some disadvantages, but they can be overlooked by its huge advantages.

In our homes, human are now provided with televisions, internet and telephone technological services which leads to the awareness of the whole world, to the particular person sitting in his home. For instance telephone was a great breakthrough, which removed the distance barrier for the information to travel around the world. Once, I had to convey some crucial information to my far sitting family member but the telephone service of my area went down, and felt completely helpless, that is when I realized how badly we humans are dependent upon the technologies we are now surrounded by. This availability of information in just one spot without any hassle also leads to obesity, laziness and some gadgets also releases harmful rays which can also leads to diseases.

Workplaces of human are now loaded with these technological advancements like intranet, high performance computers for designing and overseas video presenting. Although, this advancement leads to the subtraction of hand skills to most of the people but these can be overlooked if we consider the results, as these technologies led to this production of various cutting edge products in almost every field whether it is to travel, build, eat or sleep etcetera.

To summarize, there are some disadvantages to this, but not major if we compare them to the advantages of information technologies. If humans were not capable of inventing them, life would be much more difficult and unaware of surroundings.