Write about the following topic:

There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Write at least 250 words.

These days, youngsters really stress to triumph in traditional school subjects. This has lead to a few individuals vocalizing that extra-curricular activities such as physical training and cooking classes are not as important as the other practical subjects and thus, demand that these courses be excluded from the school curriculum to allow the pupil to focus on academic subjects. This essay disapproves of the above statement as the extra-curricular subjects make the school learning more interesting and gives learning opportunities to those interested in vocational skills.

Non-academic subjects are crucial for school life as they create an interesting learning environment. Such courses give the student an opportunity to get away from the difficulty of learning intellectual subjects like Maths and History and relax their overburdened minds during such periods and thus creates an interest in the child to attend school for the sake of such extra-curricular activities. For example, students that excel at sports may try to perform well at academics too, so that they can acquire a sports-related scholarship for their higher education.

An additional requirement for non-traditional subjects to be included is that these courses provide a learning platform for students to develop vocational skills. As a consequence, it gives the pupil a chance to realize their natural skills and talents by exploring their creativity. This also allows them the opportunity to decide whether they would like to proceed further in non-academic fields and pursue their careers as a chef or an artist or an athlete. Excluding such subjects takes away the opportunity from the student to familiarize themselves with the knowledge of learning creative skills. For example, a student might be naturally talented at painting, but if not given the opportunity to explore their skills at school, they might never realize that they can pursue their career as an artist and be equally successful as doctors or engineers.

The above essay disagrees that practical subjects should be left out of the school syllabus so as to give students more time to pay attention to academic subjects because those subjects create a less boring learning environment at school and give the chance to academically lower-performing students to recognize their creative or practical talents and thus not lose their self-confidence.