Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford.

What are the reasons for this behavior? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

A few individuals are prone to living an extravagant lifestyle and hence tend to purchase unwanted things that are overpriced for them. This habit leads them into owing huge liabilities to their financiers. one of the reasons for this behavior could be to keep up with the luxurious lifestyle, like that of their social circle. A possible solution to protecting these people from such indebtedness could be to allow only a certain credit limit depending on their monthly income.

Leading an expensive lifestyle is a personal choice and preference for many individuals. Although not everyone can afford it, some people, despite their financial limitations, choose to spend wastefully. The cause for such behavior is social pressure; these individuals fear being left out of their social circle, hence tend to match up with the lifestyles of their peers and community. In other words, people think that by living a luxurious lifestyle, they will be easily accepted into the community of their rich friends. For example, in Dubai, one of the most expensive cities in the UAE, approximately 50% of expatriates use credit cards for their daily expenses and entertainment purposes. The reason behind this habit is to match up with the luxurious lifestyle of their well-off friends.

One of the many measures that could be initiated by the government is to assign a set limit of the credit amount available to these individuals. That is to say, that specific amount limits tailored to such individuals' needs would be available on a credit basis, hence, making it difficult for them to spend unnecessarily from their basic salaries. Doing so will allow these individuals to keep their liabilities within a reasonable limit, which can then be paid back through their regular incomes. For instance, certain nonprofit credit unions; allow individuals only with a particular minimum salary amount to apply for credit cards, thus, preventing them from overburdening themselves with huge debts.

Over spenders tend to become indebted more often because of their fondness to purchase unnecessary items. They fall into this habit of thriftless spending just to fit into a higher social class than themselves. One way to break this habit could be to allow these individuals to only borrow a specified credit limit from their financiers, hence, limiting them from overspending and thus managing their expenses more carefully.