Write about the following topic.

Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation.

Why is this the case?

What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 254 words.

The modern world is an oyester for the young and new generation. The new generation have more influence on not only their own surroundings but also on the political and global issues. The previous generations hold both a grudge and a positive outlook on the new ones as the youngsters these days seems aloof yet have a strong mindset on various topics.

Today's world is curved out of internet and social media presence. The teens and young adults are both the audience and the performer of this virtual stage. But the old generation merely treats them as a clown in the king's court because of the excessive posting on TikTok, Youtube or any other social media and the narscisistic amount of selfies they take on a daily basis. But is this all the young people do all day everyday?

If you take a closer look, you will see behind the stereotypical personalization of the youth. You will find the people who are supporting the 'Black Lives Matter' or 'LGBTQ Rights' campain are the same people who spend the most of their time on social media. The very same people are using the modern technologies to create a start-up or invent a new software. Even in the recent pandemic situation, when the world stood still, the very same teens who used to sit in their homes and played video games all day, came out on the streets to help and spread awareness of the deadly disease. The recent vaccine for CoVid-19 only took two years to complete whereas it took 10+ years to irradicate deadly diseases like plague or smallpox. This was only possible as the new youths have more opportunities on their hands as they have access to the modern and improved technologies that was not available before. In Bangladesh, internet banking facilities like Bkash, Nogod or Rocket became possible due to the new enteprenuers who took risk.

Like it has been mentioned before, the old and the new have a 'love-hate' relationship with each other. However, the 'hate' part of the relationship is now changing. The previous generation is understanding where the new youths stand, their ideals and point of views.