Write about the following topic.

People should choose their course of study not on the basis of their own interests, but based on the kinds of jobs they can get.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is proposed that one's knowledge acquisition process should be directed in accordance with real job opportunities instead of what he is interested in. To a certain extent, I agree with this proposition.

On one hand, there are sound reasons justifying the notion of people orienting their education towards available job offers in the marketplace. Firstly, this strategy helps learners to focus on developing their professional competencies to attain important tangible results that are their future employment. Such job-oriented training, in my opinion, will definitely equip young aspiring jobseekers with necessary skills to compete in the modern workplace. Secondly, while interests are an integral part of our lives, pursuing hobbies do not always translate into being able to make a livelihood. For instance, while playing the guitar is immensely popular among young people and the number of amateur guitar players is increasing, the remunerations for these people are still evidently low and often insuffice to cover their bills.

On the other hand, I do believe that interest-oriented education has distinctive disadvantages. Psychologically speaking, following our passions permits us to sustain enthusiasm and establish a serious sense of commitment to do the tasks related to our fields of interest. This is crucially for us to attain success in our chosen fields. In addition, despite helping learners to be more employable, a study experience with no regards to one's personal preferences often results in long-term dissatisfaction in many ways. A good example here is in Vietnam, the trend of studying economics among students on a massive scale has generated thousands of graduates who fail to harness their innate abilities in other fields and have to settle for dead-end jobs with few prospects of promotion.

In conclusion, I personally think that education choice should be considered on both grounds: personal orientation and actual job availability.