Writing task 2: Some old customs and traditions are not useful presently, so should be given up. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Following the development of technology, many customs and traditions have been introduced to netizens, it also reveals a bunch of blind believers who practice useless and even harmful behaviours. Controversially, people cannot tell the difference between necessary beliefs as well unhelpful ones, therefore, bad customs and traditions should be given up and probably banned. Further in this essay, I will discuss more about the complication of the problem along with the possible solution.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that not every single old-fashioned behaviour is bad, however, some of them might hold some sort of values. Accordingly, it acts as a way for people to appreciate their current living, and be thankful for the legacy of the ancestors. Moreover, these customs and traditions provide each individual with valuable lessons, it also brings knowledge about their origins. Not only can it teach youngsters about their family, it can also educate kids to respect all the contribution of the former members.

On the other hand, there is a great number of people who follows non-sensible activities such as fortune telling. It is obvious that these old-fashioned beliefs are designed a long time ago with insufficient purposes or usages. As the civilization develop, these behaviours become a waste of time due to the lack of usefulness. In addition, they do not contribute to the spiritual life of people negatively, but only mislead everyone. Not just that, these types of customs and traditions are being taken advantage of to trick blind followers, causing them to lose money. Such activities could also drive people insane, turning them into addicts as they are willing to devote all of their belongings to obtain invisible fortune.

In conclusion, it is clear that some old customs and traditions should be embraised and preserved while other ought to be banned. Old-fashioned behaviours which are negative would only bring people bad luck, as a result, it is best that laws should be enforced to forbid any deceiving customs and traditions in order for the society to grow productively.