You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Some people think that only governments and huge companies can improve the environment effectively while people or a person cannot. I disagree with this opinion and I think there still have several activities which people can take effectively to improve the environment.

On the one hand, there are several activities which merely governments and big companies can take to make considerable changes. Because these activities require a lot of money and facilities and even important laws or policies. For example, in order to improve water quality, there needs to be invested modern water quality treatment systems that are clearly expensive and only huge organizations can take. Besides, the governments can launch several environmental laws or policies that can be used to deal with activities damaging the environment. For instance, when factories release toxic products into the river, they can pay fees or even they have to prove their ability in water quality treatment to governments.

On the other hand, the environment can be still improved considerably by individuals via taking several small actions. These activities do not require much effort to complete and a person can even take them easily and conveniently in daily life. For instance, individuals or a person can use paper bags instead of plastic bags when he or she goes shopping. In addition, several households owning gardens even can plant flowers or green trees in to improve their surroundings as the trees can make the atmosphere around us clearer.

In conclusion, in order to enhance environment quality, merely governments and large organizations can make remarkable changes while individuals can do nothing. However, I think there are many ways to improve the environments by which individuals can handle them effectively.