You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

You should write at least 254 words.

It is now believable that people are living longer than before due to the modern and progressive medical facilities. As a result, many people think the age for considering retirement should be changed to later years and the workers should continue working for longer period. However, I would like to disagree as I believe it will do more harm than good to our society and nation.

As people age, their learning ability decreases and so it will be difficult for them to adapt with the new and improving technologies related to their work. Furthermore, their working efficiency reduces significantly as well as they are less likely to welcome any change happening in the working environment.

Secondly, the health of older employees, who are more than 60 years old, are more likely to deteriorate if they are under the pressure of working. Older people tend to develop diseases like diabetes or more prone stroke or heart attack, and if that happens inside the office building, the employers have to pay out of their own pockets as a part of health insurance. In order to avoid such economic losses, the employers like to let go of the older job-holders as early as possible.

Thirdly, working longer than the retirement period will lead to unemployment of the newer generation. A company can only hire so much employee. So, if they hold on the previous workers, the young graduates of our society will never found a suitable job.

On the other hand, the retired people feels insignicant and useless as they loose their contributions to the community. On the contrary, they have so much experience regarding the society and history. So, maybe incorporating the experience they have is not a bad idea as long as it does not have a negative effect on their health and on our community.