Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, youngsters are becoming increasingly obsessed with fashion, thereby devoting a great amount of time and money to follow the trends. From my perspective, this phenomenon has both beneficial and detrimental implications.

There are numerous positive aspects of adolescents’ following the fashion trends, one of which is the economic prosperity. It is true that fashion is staggeringly lucrative industry which might generate employment for thousands of people. For example, the manufacturing and distributing clothes and accessories involve many stages and require the contribution of both skilled and unskilled workers. In other words, the booming of fashion sector would significantly contribute to lower employment rate. What is more, fashion benefits its followers when it comes to self-expression. Through fashionable items, teenagers can exhibit their identity, which would in turn boost their self-esteem.

Fashion trends, however, are associated with a number of problems. First and foremost, fashion changes with seasons and persuades shoppers that if they do not make a purchase right now, the items will be gone forever. This could lead to an impulse purchase or pressure if juveniles are unable to afford these fashionable products. The growth of fashion industry could also exacerbate the wealth gap. For instance, the well-to-do individuals would have no difficulty obtaining exorbitant high-end designer clothes to showcase their social status whilst the reverse is true for those living below the poverty line. The inferiority complex is accordingly unnecessarily created. Another downside of frantically chasing after fashion is the negative impacts on academic performance of the youth as what comes to their mind most of the time is fashion icons and trendy clothes, not lessons or homework. There is no denying that the poor educational backgrounds of young generation might not only hinder their career prospects but also contribute to the nation’s economic stagnation.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, it is indisputable that the demerits of following fashion trends overshadow its merits. I would therefore contend that this is a negative development.