Young people are often the first to suffer when job opportunities are scarce In which ways does age affect employment opportunities How might employees deal with the issues fairly

It is generally believed that when the rate of vacancies around the world seems to be low, it primarily affects youngsters in a negative way. This essay will discuss the employment prospects in relation to age and propose viable measures that employers take in order to overcome this problem.

Although it is not a case in all the companies, yet the age factor still remains as an integral part of the employee recruitment process. In other words, the notion of age can be associated with the number of experienced years. Thus, the higher the number, the higher the level of expertise, and hence the likelihood of acquisition of a position. For example, according to statistical data, more than half the global organizations look for the candidates who have several years of experience in a particular field. Consequently, young people, that are less experienced, are less preferred for a certain position, especially when there is lack of job openings. Therefore, the first individuals who tend to suffer during the time of scarce opportunities for work are the juveniles due to their restricted levels of practical experience.

Employers can approach this phenomenon with a justice, and take some actions to assist the young candidates in acquiring the jobs. That is to say that in order to make the process fair and just, the recruiters ought to conduct knowledge evaluation tests in the form of written examinations from all the prospective job applicants. This might be more advantageous for youngsters since they are mostly considered to excel the older people in terms of academic knowledge. In this way, the problem can be solved justly, and in most cases in favour of young people.

In conclusion, it is true that young individuals suffer, at first place, from the scarcity of vacancies. This is often because many corporations perceive age to be of paramount importance while recruiting new personnel. I do believe that this condition can be altered with the help of just employer’s approach by organising same written tests for the participants.