Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age This is called peer pressure Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages

In general, the youngster circle is developed by peers which are named as peer group pressure. I argue that this situation will take more benefits than the drawbacks if the youngster has positive peers around them.

To begin with, the drawbacks of peer group pressure will lead youngsters in the wrong direction. When the interaction between youngsters and peers goes to the negative value, youngsters will feel that they have a responsibility to follow the most behavior in these groups, even though the youngsters know that it is wrong. For instance, in terms of bullying at school, many youngsters and peers build some groups in their communities, then, as a piece of bad news, some groups will recruit youngsters who have an ability to bullying their friends. Therefore, negative peers in the youngster circle will lead to the shape of bad personalities in the future.

Although it will take some drawbacks, peer group pressure also shapes the youngster’s personalities in some positive values. First of all, some studies said that a good external environment in youngsters' life will motivate children to compete to be better people. For example, the youngsters who conduct a relationship with clever friends, then indirectly they will follow the way those friends to be clever. Secondly, peer group pressure leads the school to take some benefits from it. For example, in Indonesia, some schools apply peer group pressure methods in terms of choosing a group of classes. Some groups of students who have negative impacts in their circle will be determined into small parts and surrounded by students with good personalities. Hopefully, this situation will erode the negative behavior and substitute with positive attitudes.

In conclusion, peer group pressure can bring a significant change among youngsters. The benefits will be higher than the drawbacks if they are managed.