Young people now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, spending a lot of time and money on fashion trends of young people has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this problem is not without advantages, the downsides will be far more significant.

There are a multitude number of reasons why following luxury items will be a positive development. First, since teenagers usually want to define themselves, buying and updating the latest fashion trend is necessary. This means that they will gain a lot of attention from their friends, which helps them more confident. Second, if the young tend to spend a great amount of money on their clothes, the national economy will be boosted. For example, as the fashion industry is lucrative, the government should impose a higher tax on this field, which substantially increases the national budget.

Nevertheless, there are a vast number of reasons why being a slave to fashion would be a negative trend. First, if people invest more in clothing, there will be a great number of wastes produced every day. In fact, materials used to make clothes contain many components, such as nylon or polyester, which are hardly decomposed, causing detrimental impacts on the environment. Second, by engrossing in high-end items, the youngsters might lose track of time. This means that they usually think of the ways to become more fascinated, therefore, they do not have enough time for other priorities, such as studying or expanding social circles.

In conclusion, although investing in a new fashion trend would be beneficial to some extent, I strongly believe that this can contribute to a host of drawbacks.