Young people these days tend to be less polite and respectful than in the past. Causes and solutions.

Many studies show that new generation is discourteous and disrespectful than that of previous generations. Rationales are many folds. This essay delves into the reasons for this attitude and suggesting some remedies.

Undeniably, in the past younger people were more polite and respectful to the elderly people and to the society. For instance, in Indian culture, it was very common for young people to always respect the elderly people but nowadays this behaviour has almost vanished. Globalisation, the influence of foreign cultures and sense of individuality are some main reasons for this paradigm shift. The cultural exchange between the nations are rapid and that gives the young generation a sense that they are not obliged to respect others. The impact of western culture has destroyed the traditions in many countries and this is another reason for the less polite behaviour among the youth. Secondly, with the advancement of technology people are busy with the social media, foreign music and movies. For example, the younger generation is not only engaged with their mobile gadgets but also spend less time socialising and as a result, they have less time for others. Furthermore, moral values of the new generation are declining as the educational process has changed rapidly. Teachers and parents no longer spend time teaching children about moralities and obligation to societies.

However, it is necessary to tackle this issue from childhood by proper parental guidance and by proper education. The family is the first school and parents are the best teachers. So they can shape the behaviour of their offspring from the very early stage. Continuous usages of technological devices such as mobile phones or computers should be restricted. In addition school curricular should also give priority to the moral aspects of students and should include counselling and guidance classes in their curriculum. Furthermore, social media should also broadcast the programs portraying the importance of good character and moralities.

In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that today's generation is lacking respect and politeness in their behaviour. To some extent, this is due to the advancement of technology and influence of social media and foreign cultures. Teacher and parents’ lack of proper guidance can also be attributed to this shift. Proper education, controlled use of technology, socialising, family bonding, and better parenting are the most important aspects to address this pressing issue.