04/10/2017

Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

A growing number of couples want to give a birth to a child when they will be older and wiser. Below some reasons of the trend will be discussed and its merits and drawbacks will be given.

To begin with, many adults decide to postpone a pregnancy because they wish to build a career and establish themselves. In fact, today’s society often measures how successful a person is through his or her job position. Furthermore, by delaying having offspring young people acquires a possibility to create all needed conditions for bringing up their progeny. For instance, many established grown-ups own apartments, automobiles and a large bank account with savings. All of this allows the mature parents to provide their offspring with goods and services that may be required.

However, this trend has some advantages and disadvantages. Primarily, children of mature individuals have a better start in life because kids are given proper care and attention. They will have toys that develop their brains and bodies, tutors and teachers who will help youngsters to study better, and money to pay for studying in college or university. In addition, psychological studies demonstrate those who become fathers and mothers aged thirty and above usually devote a lot of time to the upbringing of their kids.

At the same time, giving a birth later in life is associated with a higher probability of health issues of a new-born. Statistically, offspring of mature mothers have more chances to be born earlier than expected and have problems with a nervous system that increase a likelihood of having mental disorders in the adulthood. Moreover, mothers risk undermining their overall health because about one-third of all women who go through a pregnancy later in a life will have a surgery connected with or caused by it.

To sum up, although reasons that lead to the trend are understandable and important, drawbacks definitely outweigh benefits because the well-being of children and women must be put first.