18.09.2017 Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that the increased sale of famous consumer goods in the present scenario clearly denotes that people buy them largely on account of the influence of the commercials irrespective of their necessity. I tend to agree to this view. Do advertisements have such a great deal of power on consumer behavior? This essay will discuss the reasons with examples in detail.

Not surprisingly the offers and discounts on consumer goods such as furniture, household appliances play a huge rule on consumer's purchasing behavior. Especially, attractive credits offered during festive seasons are more popular. For example, cash back, price discounts, free products are some of the few modes of trade design used by the sellers to attract buyers to induce the buyers to spend more money on these durable goods, sometimes beyond their purchasing power through EMI or credit cards.

Despite their necessity people at times purchase popular brands just out the curiosity created by the luring advertisements.

For instance, a case of a poor or middle-class man replacing a normal color tv with the LED TV on seeing the ads in the newspaper. Likewise, some will purchase a high-end smartphone though they can carry out their regular duties with their middle-end smartphones efficiently. As result, buyers are spending a huge amount of their savings on products that are not really required, ending up with debt obligations and not to mention the risks of over usage of credit cards.

In conclusion, the advertisement has a significant part in the rise in the sale of consumer goods and it also lures customer to spend on the products that are not their absolute needs. I believe this as not a positive trend, as it results in inefficient spending on the common man making him a debtor. Unless customer puts efforts to make himself or herself aware of the purpose behind and effects of the luring commercials, the businessmen will use all possible means to make cash out of them.