Since the 18th century technological advances have replaced people in the workplace. With today’s technology this process is happening at a greater rate. Technology is increasingly responsible for unemployment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technological advances always have an impact on people at work. Sometimes it can mean that people are no longer necessary in their job, but sometimes they make people work easier. We can define technology as scientific knowledge used for practical purpose in industry and commerce. I would also like to make a further distinction between this and high technology, which is electronic or information technology.

In my view, technology really began to have an effect on industry in the early of the 20th century. The result of this was that certain industries like the car industry did not really need as many people, as automated machines and robots were able to do jobs such as painting the car, or putting the car together.

However, if we now turn to look at the effect of high technology on the workplace, in my opinion, there has been a different effect. It is true that computers are able to do some things that people used to do and advanced in high technology have made people’s lives better through improvement in communication. For example, now we have e-mail, MSN and some electronic tool to chat with friends or business partners. In addition, people working in service industries like banking use computers much more than pen and paper nowadays. In addition, some work can be done from home, which means that people do not need spend time travelling and can work where and when they want to.

In conclusion, technology has resulted in unemployment in some traditional industries like car industry. On the other hand, in other industries such as service industries, technology has improved the way the work.