27/10/2017 Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Include your personal opinion and examples based on your own experience.

In many countries, paper banknotes and metal money are being slowly but steadily replaced by plastic money. Below some merits and shortages of the trend and author's opinion will be given.

On the one hand, an increasing usage of plastic cards has brought some benefits. Firstly, paying by Visa and Master card is extremely convenient. For example, having a card allows me not to carry with me a wallet all the time and avoid dealing with dirty banknotes and heavy coins. Furthermore, traveling abroad with the cards is comfortable because if I am short on money, me relatives or friends can always send me some finances on my card. Secondly, using plastic money allows me to avoid having problems in case I lose the card. When my card was lost on a bus, I merely made a phone call to block it and to order a new one. My savings were preserved and untouched. So, spreading of the trend makes lives of citizens more comfortable and safer.

On the other hand, the trend is associated with some disadvantages. Primarily, a cyber security is perhaps the biggest issue. Although a person may be careful, his password and login could be stolen by hackers. In fact, more than a million people have suffered from a recent cyber attack on one of the wealthiest Russian banks and I was one of the victims. My bank account was breached and if I hadn’t had only a small amount on it, my well-being would have been seriously damaged by this situation. In addition, the trend gives to international corporations and governments an indispensable opportunity to collect personal data about visited places and made purchases. This information might be used to manipulate people and even blackmail some individuals. In other words, the replacement of cash by plastic cards has some adverse facets.

In my opinion, although the cards are really convenient and their exploitation brings many fruits, I am personally prone to limit their usage because the drawbacks of the trend are too dire and significant.