Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Include your personal opinion and examples based on your own experience.

The electronic transaction is gradually replacing the traditional banking system and the use of bank currency is being substituted by credit and debit cards. The transformation towards a cashless society might be slow, but steady and widespread. This paradigm shift has both positive and negative consequences. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and downsides of this trend.

Primarily, electronic transactions and plastic card payments are more convenient and they are processed on the go. People do not have to carry a bulk amount of cash or write a check that takes a couple of days to clear the payment. The electronic payments are global and hassle-free. Consequently, the eCommerce industry has flourished and many individuals have their own online business without any brick and mortar shop. For instance, nowadays it has become pretty easy to shop with a VISA or a Master card, virtually anywhere in the world, without carrying the wallet all the time. Meanwhile, with PayPal and other online payment processors, someone can sell his products online. Personally, I hate standing in a long queue to pay my utility bills, and my cards let me do it from home - a time saver indeed.

On the contrary, the trend does not come without negative aspects. Although we are able to use these cards due to technological advancement, the risks of using the plastic money, however, pertain to this technology. The primary threat to such payment mode is cybersecurity and hacking. For example, once a credit card is cloned or its sensitive data is hacked, the owner would suffer a great financial loss. A technology giant like Facebook failed to protect its user data and the misuse of this data is a global concern. Same goes for the plastic cards and online payment systems which have the same vulnerability. Moreover, many credit card holders spend extravagantly and in the long run suffer from debts.

To conclude, albeit cards payment system has some adverse effects, the trend to use of plastic money for payments is the need of the hour. It provides a plethora of advantages and the convenience of this method of payment is unparalleled.