Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Include your personal opinion and examples based on your own experience.

These days plastic money or electronic transactions are replacing bank notes and coins, however slowly, but steadily there is a change in paradigm of payments. In this article I will be discussing some advantages and some disadvantages of this change with my personal opinion also.

Primarily this transition in payment modes is making payments more convenient and on the go. For instance now a days it has become pretty easy to shop with your VISA/MASTER CARD credit card anywhere without thinking of cash or amount of money present in the bank account. Due to this change now I do not have to carry my wallet all the time nor I have to deal with dirt bank notes and heavy coins all the time. Another great advantage of having this plastic money is while travelling abroad, my family, friend or any relative can send me money on my card in case of need. This helps you from hotel bookings to cab rides without worrying about any carrying any cash. Now I do not have to stand in que to pay my utility bills, as I can do it all with my credit/debit card while using internet.

On the other hand the trend is also calling for some disadvantages. Although we are able to use these cards due to technological advancement, however, the risks of using plastic money also pertains to this technology. The main and the most basic threat to such payment mode is cyber security, as while using plastic money we are at risk to cyber hacking all the time. The recent cyber attack on all the information available at facebook and other social media website is a prime example of this risk. Credit/Debit cards trend gives international corporations and governments indispensable opportunity to have your personal information for any kind of use. In short use of this payment mode may dent an individual.

In my view, although cards payment system have their adverse effects, but the trend to use plastic money for payments is the need of the hour, it provides plethora of advantages. The convenience of this method of payment is nonparallel. The risk which I have discussed above that there is a risk of information leak, this can affect an individual by other sources as well, plastic money is not the only risk in our lives. So it is better to use this technological blessing rather turn our faces towards its demerits.