27/10/2017 Some sports are extremely dangerous but many people still like them very much. Why do people take part in dangerous sports? Give some suggestions on how to deal with these dangers.Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

There are some sports activities such as base jumping, skydiving and Formula one racing that are popular despite being dangerous for the well-being of those who take part in them. Below some reasons of the popularity and possible solutions to the problematic situation will be given.

To begin with, practicing those activities has some benefits. Firstly, doing diving or any other extreme sport appears to be the simplest way to attract public’s attention. In fact, a psychological research conducted in the European Union demonstrates people may become addictive to crowd’s attitude and being prized could be compared to having a drug fix. Secondly, putting life and health in real danger summons very strong emotions on its own. To illustrate, when I did my first jump from an aircraft, I was alert, fascinated and happy simultaneously. This specific feeling motivated and encouraged me to continue doing this sport for many years. In other words, the addiction to strong, positive emotions seems to be a likely root of the issue.

However, there are some actions that may alter the conduct of the sports people. Primarily, changing public’s attitude to those who participate in extreme sports from positive to negative may be effective. If skydivers are treated like insane individuals who should seek medical attention, they will lose public support and consequently the pleasure that is brought by it. Losing it may work as an efficient deterrent. Furthermore, increasing safety standards could decrease the risk of injuries dramatically. For an example, prohibiting skydiving in inclement weather and forcing sportsmen to use a protective gear could annihilate many threats. So, discouraging athletes from practicing some sports and enhancing safety might address the problem.

In my opinion, the main cause of the spreading of the dangerous sports is emotions and feelings that are invoiced by doing them. If public support and the likelihood of death are being decreased, the number of those who take part in those activities and casualties will decline.