Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples.

The world keeps changing with an unimaginable pace, this is unquestionable fact, however, how this pace impacts on us is a theme for a discussion. My stance and reasons on which it is based will be discussed in details below.

At first, we ought to look at the modernity from a subjective prospect of an average person who has an access to the internet, social media, TV shows and other modern means of communication. This person has an access to a plethora of personal information of many people with whom he can compare his own life and success. This possibility may lead to feeling of deep dissatisfaction and even depression. For example, a youngster who live in inner city of Chicago who belongs to a family with low income and who has no possibility to achieve a better live might be subscribed to the Instagram accounts of popular artists, millionaires etc. Unfortunately, this comparison ought to have a grave negative influence on happiness of the person. If the young person had no access to the photos and videos, the one would have no knowledge about conveniences of life of the wealthy and therefore, there will be no reason for being upset.

However, if we look at the modernity from an objective point of view, we inevitably will conclude that today's people have happier lives than our predecessors. Apparently, such horrible disasters of the past as famine and starvation have become a part of history about which we might occasionally read in a textbook. Moreover, progress and technological development gave us a vast number of items which undoubtedly alleviate our lives, for instance, fridges which allow us keeping our food fresh, automobiles which give us indispensable opportunity to travel conveniently, aircrafts which fabulously reduced the amount of time needed for traveling on huge distances. Furthermore, the level of life has skyrocketed during the former century. In fact, our life expectancy is unprecedented in the history of this planet. In other words, from an objective prospect our lives are happier than ones of our fathers and grandfathers.

To wrap up, there is an obvious discrepancy between subjective and objective viewpoint of the happiness and feeling of satisfaction. Social media gives us access to information which makes us depressed and dissatisfied about our lives, at the same time, the real situation is quite positive, I think that in the nearest future this discrepancy will be overcome after the mankind will adapt to new means of communication as well as the humankind got used to printed newspapers and the radio.