29.10.2017

Some people think that spending a lot on birthday celebrations and wedding is a waste of money.But others think that it is important to young people and the society.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many aver celebrating lavishly birthdays and weddings is an unreasonable action. Other claim having opulent celebrations is crucial for the society and young individuals. Below both prospects will be discussed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, spending a large amount of money on the discussed events is not a necessity. Firstly, traditions and customs that are associated with having big celebrations have lost their pivotal meaning in today’s society. In fact, the number of city dwellers keeps growing steadily, it means people who belong to different cultures, confessions and nationalities have to co-exist. Thus, a new cosmopolitan culture is being forged that is adapted to living in those novel circumstances. Secondly, young adults have many urgent needs that must be satisfied. For instance, the cash that is wasted on a celebration could have been used as an initial fee for an automobile credit or a mortgage. If resources are not spent wisely, young people will not have a possibility to live independently from their parents for a long time. So, adhering to the archaic tradition is a waste of limited resources.

On the other hand, there are those who believe celebrating important events lavishly has a deep meaning. Primarily, wedding and birthday parties served as a tool that allowed young members of society to move from one stage of their lives to the next one. A big event attracts a huge number of relatives, friends and colleagues who witness this step forward and help the young adults to realize and comprehend this alteration. Furthermore, the discussed tradition brings families together and has a crucial importance for maintaining family ties. Each noisy party is a reason to remind people that they are a part of the same community who shares common history and values. So, the discussed habit has an advantageous influence on those who are being praised and the society.

In my opinion, the contemporary society keeps developing and although the old way of celebrating used to be crucial for the well-being of the community, today the custom become obsolete and may be forsaken.