9. Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whilst some people believe that being a teenager brings a great deal of happiness rather than being a responsible mature when getting older, others are of the belief of the opposite view. This essay will discuss both sides of this debate thoroughly before a reasonable conclusion will be reached.

On the one hand, the teenage years are often seen as the most exciting period of many people’s life simply because of their less responsibilities and relatively more freedom. This is to say that a teenager, unlike adults, usually does not have to care about paying bills, proving himself at a workplace or competing with other businesses’ owners in an increasingly competitive market. Added to this, a remarkable characteristic featured adolescence years which is freedom to do whatever one may desire whenever he is passionate to do so. Such qualities definitely do contribute to less stressful life and often lead to a sense of fulfillment and happiness in this early stage of almost anyone’s life. A recent survey has been conducted by “the Childhood Care Organization”, on 200 British families living in London, has revealed that 80% of teenagers within these families found to be extremely happy and satisfied about the way they live their lives, while the ratio has dramatically decreased to only 25% when same questions introduced to their parents.

On the other hand, some people may think that being a mature is far more rewarding because a person probably gets paid and even the sense of responsibility and commitment either at home or work is a positive and enjoyable in itself. In other words, when people start their careers, they likely have much more money rather than when they were unpaid youngsters. In addition to this, many individuals do passionately enjoy caring about their loved ones or work commitments, and they never consider this as a disadvantageous. For example, while I was a child, I frequently asked my parents to travel to Europe during summer holidays, but they refuted due to either lack of monetary resources or their irrational strict parental control. Nevertheless, after I had graduated, I got a decent, well-paid job, and since then I have been visiting numerous countries the world over during my annual leave.

In conclusion, having presented the aforementioned ideas and instances, it can be concluded that although the many merits for the teenage years such as lower accountability and absence of many work or family-related constraints, I do believe that being paid worker and self-independent mature can bring more happiness to our life because of the real sense of self-independence in terms of one’s financial and social decisions.