Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries.

What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

Transnational corporations are opening more and more branches in the less industrialized nations. Whilst a higher rate of employment for local residents is the main merit of such a trend, difficulties local businesses are facing when competing with these business titans are the main drawback.

When a multinational firm establishes a new branch in one of the less developed states, this undoubtedly helps create lots of job opportunities for job seekers in these countries. This means less poverty, less unemployment and more support for national economies, which can lead to better social stability and citizens' overall satisfaction. According to a recent study conducted by Cairo University, 30% of Egyptian university graduates over the last 10 years have been hired by American industry giants operating in Egypt, such as Pepsi, Google, General Motors and General Electric. Therefore, the benefits of having these establishments working in poorer countries are obvious.

Despite the benefit of employment, national industries and local service providers find it virtually impossible to compete with multinational companies because they have huge advertising budgets, highly qualified employees, and close relationships with authorities. These characteristics make it extremely tough for small national brands to survive or to have any expansion plans when in competition with these mega-businesses. The Economist, for instance, has recently conducted a new research study revealing the fact that in Cairo for each new McDonald or KFC shop sets up, there are consequently 3 to 5 traditional Egyptian restaurants either completely shut down, or they are suffering severe financial issues.

Having presented the aforementioned merits and demerits for multinational companies, it can be concluded that although these overseas corporations benefit developing countries’ economies by providing many job opportunities, they can result in destroying or at least hindering the progress of some local competitors.