Adults do less exercise nowadays. Some think that people can be encouraged to live healthy lives through sporting events such as the Olympics or the World Cup. Others think that there are better ways to encourage adults for exercise. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Majority of people now a days are leading a sedentary lifestyle. Due to the hectic lifestyle, adults do not indulge in physical activities. Few believe that in order to motivate people for exercising is through various sporting events like Olympics or World Cup, while few people opine otherwise. This essay will discuss both the views with examples.

Firstly, people are leading an inactive life due to plethora of reasons like chaotic work schedule or personal commitments. Working professionals on average spend 9 hours a day work and due to the tight work schedule they have very little motivation to spend another hour in gym. To illustrate further, recent research by Hindustan Times states that 80% of working professionals have erratic work schedule and after long day nothing motivates them to exercise. Furthermore, research also states that sporting activities like Olympics or World cup are viewed as pure entertainment, hence there are very people who get inspiration by the athletes to exercise daily.

On the other hand, I believe that there are better ways to motivate people for physical exercise like the government can motivate people by running various campaigns for healthy lifestyle and the benefits of it. For example, India Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi has launched “Fit India Campaign” where he personally encourages the people of country to stay healthy and fit by doing regular exercise. In that campaign he shared his video of doing yoga on daily basis. Statistic shows that many people got motivated after seeing the prime minister video and have started doing any kind of physical activity. Alternatively, even corporates can motivate their employees to stay healthy by providing subside gymnasium memberships or provide exercise facilities in their offices. This will encourage people to work out on regular basis.

To recapitulate, staying fit and to exercise on regular basis requires lot of discipline and motivation.