Some people think that the Olympics is no longer important in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated whether the Olympics event is important or is no longer important. Personally, I strongly agree that the Olympics is a great platform to unite countries.

There is ample evidence that the Olympics is beneficial to the players and the hosting country. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, there are many talented athletes across the globe whose talent goes unnoticed. The Olympics provides a platform to such athletes to showcase their talents and achieve fame and recognition for themselves and their country. Also, sports events like the Olympics creates a great platform for rival country’s leaders to meet and create harmony and reduce political tension. For instance, the recent winter Olympics was used by President Donald Trump and Leader of North Korea to meet and diffuse the tense situation in the Korean Peninsula. Without these games, this would have been impossible.

The country that hosts the Olympics event, gains popularity and attracts tourists which in turn accelerates the per capita income of their economy. For example, recent empirical research by the UK Government demonstrated that the tourism industry of country’s that hosted the Olympics increased by 40% due to media showcasing the country’s major tourist attractions. Also, in order to organise such a big scale event the hosts country has to build infrastructure like stadium and transportation like metros, buses and trains which will in turn benefits the hosts country’s citizens. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that Olympics is just not an international sports event, but also has several benefits attached to it.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that, hosting Olympics is beneficial and should not be discontinued. It is predicted that the international sports events will increasingly grow in importance.