Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, there are plethora of food products of various countries are available in supermarkets. Few experts believe that availability of international food products is beneficial, while few opine otherwise. In the following paragraphs, I will enumerate both advantages and disadvantages of the topic.

Firstly, due to globalization, people can enjoy wide variety of food products from all over the world. To illustrate, Dragon Fruit which is cultivated in South East of Asia is not readily available in all leading super markets in India. Similarly, Alphonso mango, which is produced in India is called as the king of fruits, is relished by Americans, as it is exported in humongous quantity to Unites States of America. The major advantages of import and export of food products is that it creates a demand in other countries which in turn helps the home country farmers and boost the economy. Additionally, it also helps in strengthen the relationship of two countries who are involved in business.

On the contrary, there are few disadvantages like - the food products that are transported has to travel thousands of miles before it reaches the country which makes them costly and, in the transit, there are chances that the food products might deteriorate or get damaged. Furthermore, local shops will like to promote international food products over local food products as they can resale them at higher price in order to accelerate their profit margins. This will affect the local farmers business as their produce will not get preference. For example, In India, many farmers have committed suicide as the food products that they have cultivated is not getting traded in the market or even if they can sell, they end up selling it under price which dwarfs up their profits.

To conclude, though the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, but international food products should be available in market however, it shouldn’t affect the local food produce market.