Technology has invaded privacy. Is it a blessing or a curse?

It is no secret that technology has become an integral part of lives. Few experts believe that technological advancement is unmeasurable. However, few experts term this progress as a curse, as it makes people vulnerable.

Firstly, we have become so comfortable with technology, that unknowingly, we have given it permission to invade our lives. Today, we are so dependable on technology that we use our mobile phones, tablets, and laptops to store our personal information like passwords, credit card numbers, and so on. In fact, this information can easily be hacked and can lead to monetary loss or leaking of confidential data. Furthermore, technology can also easily access our activities on social media, web browsers and our location all the time. This information if fallen in the wrong hands could lead to robbery, blackmailing or other malpractices. Thus, it is possible to say that technology is a blessing but at the same time, it has opened the gateway for cybercrimes and hacking.

Secondly, even though technology has attacked our privacy, it has also helped in making our lives easier. For instance, technology has helped to enforce “Law and Order” in the country by solving hideous crime and ensuring that people abide by the law. For example, surveillance cameras on the roads have helped reduce road accidents, as people who falter on following traffic rules are penalised. Therefore, it is clear to state that technology surveillance has helped in reducing misconduct in society.

To recapitulate, I partially agree that technology has made it easy for the world to peep into our lives. However, we need to be mindful of not sharing personal information on social media or storing it on our devices.