Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities.

What are the reasons?

Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

Over the last couple of years, we have seen a large influx of young people from rural areas moving to cities because of lack of opportunities in rural areas. Some experts believe that this development has more disadvantages than advantages, personally I agree. This essay will discuss both the sides using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that shows that moving to big cities is beneficial for young people. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, big cities provides employment opportunities as there are many multinational companies who want to hire young talents. Secondly, young people move to big cities to pursue further studies in Management, Science or Economics from well renowned Universities which are not present in rural areas. For example, recent empirical research by the Oxford University demonstrated that 90% of young people residing in rural areas post their graduation move to big cities for further studies or employment purpose. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that young people relocate to big cities for fruitful opportunities, and to progress in life so that they can meet their family’s financial needs.

On the other hand, large inflow of people in cities creates various issues for rural and big cities. Migrate of young talents leads to decline in skill labour, thus hampering the development and growth of rural areas. Also, due to large amount of people moving to big cities creates traffic congestion leading to rise in pollution levels of cities. Furthermore, the cities experiences a rise in housing prices making it difficult for middle class people to afford a house. For example, an extensive study by the UK Government showed that many well-known big cities like Mumbai and Bangalore over last couple of years have seen a rise in people moving thus making city congested. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the disadvantages outweigh advantages.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that young talents moving to big cities creates a brain drain for rural areas. Hence, the government needs to work towards providing opportunities to people in rural areas.