Today it is common practice for many business meetings and business training to take place online. Do the advantages of this new development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is incontrovertible truth that companies are opting for online trainings or business meetings over traditional methods. Few people believe that this new change has enumerate pros while few opine otherwise.

Firstly, due to technological advancement, companies have now alternates to traditional business meetings like virtual business meetings and training. This has made convenient for conglomerates who has presence across globe. Such companies are now conducting meetings anytime with their business associates who are not present in the same country. In fact, companies can conduct multiple meetings at the same time without adding on the cost. A recent article of Hindustan Times states that companies like Reliance, Wipro and TATA save on their annual official travel cost by 40% as they now conduct regular monthly and quarterly meetings virtually. Furthermore, many companies are also opting for online business training course for their employees, as it is convenient for employees to complete the course anytime anywhere without affecting their daily work schedule. A recent New York Times article states that companies prefer for online training course over traditional one as employees can access the content when they are on the move. Statistic shows that demand for online training courses has accelerated by 30% in FY’18.

Conversely, few people believe that online meetings or business training lacks human touch which is very essential. A recent studies shows that the attention span during online meetings isn’t that great i.e. people are easily distracted as compared to face to face meetings. Additionally, any kind of online training doesn’t add value as the employee can just read through the course without actually grasping the content. Also, companies have to invest in high-tech infrastructure which requires for conducting online meeting which is an expensive affair. Many times it has also happened that due to the server downtime the meetings had to be reschedule which cost a great deal to companies.

To recapitulate, conducting online meetings has far advantages over traditional method. However, for important decisions like signing a contract or business deals, personal meeting is a must. Hence, there has to be balance between online and traditional, like the monthly meetings where leaders are discussing the progress can be done online, but the annual meets need to be done in person.