Today it is common practice for many business meetings and business training to take place online. Do the advantages of this new development outweigh the disadvantages?

Virtual meetings received massive popularity among the organizations all over the world with the development of online technologies. Online training programs offer a great level of mobility, but then again, the problems arising from lack of physical presence shall be considered. In this essay, it will be discussed if the mobility of online meetings can cover-up the benefits of physical participation.

Modern softwares have offered user-friendly platform to the corporates to run online meetings and training sessions. Such programs do not require an individual’s presence to a particular place, rather he can participate from anywhere using either a laptop or smart phone. This mobility enables everyone to attend the programs in time , not being affected by the traffic. Moreover, the distance among the participants is being eradicated by digitizing the training programs. As a consequence, trainees from multiple countries can engage in skill development programs. Digital meetings not only delivered flexibility of presence, but also reduced hussle to attend.

On the other hand, online meet-ups are criticized of not having the benefits of physical presence. As member attend the programs virtually, there is no physical interaction. In other words, in a virtual meeting room, there is neither hand-shakes, nor personal opinion sharing with others. In USA, for instance, 60% people attending online training programs reported that they understand better in a real class room than an online study-place. Furthermore, as the users do not stay present in-real, they might get disconnected from the discussion because of any technical failure, missing important issues of the discussion. The consequence of no physical interaction and technical problems make digital training less apealing.

To conclude, attending meetings and training online are both appreciated and accepted by most of the organizations in this current world. Though the problem of lack of physical presence persists, the mobility that virtual meetings have to offer outweighs on the ground that people get used to it over time and technical difficulties can be avoided by keeping alternative measures.