Some people think the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run businesses.

From tea-stalls to large multinational corporations, the participation of family members in business operation is visible round the globe. Though many think of the loyalty that such business has to offer, the problem of not having dynamic members in management and the possibility of sudden dissolution shall be considered as well. In this essay, the benefits flowing from family’s loyalty and the problems incurring from the engagement of family members will be scrutinized.

Like other business organizations, family-operated businesses do not face the threat of sudden resignation of a key-person as close family members are given such positions. Business firms take numerous initiatives to retain loyal employees followed by high-level of expenses, but then again, a family business can enjoy similar advantage without spending a single penny. In India, for instance, large departmental shops, operated by families where the members play the managerial role, are reported to have only 1% employee turnover rate compared to 5% of other organizations. As the key persons dedicate their labor for the mutual-benefit of the family, such organizations enjoy stability as well as annual growth.

On the other hand, engaging family members in governing body reduces the inclusion of dynamic people in the team. Consequently, the capacity of the group is limited by the capability of the family. In a labor market, recruiters employ the best candidate to expect goal achievements, but a family-owned business doesn’t have that opportunity to bring candidates from open market and get results. So such firms can tremendously suffer from lack of most-required skills. Moreover, a family business faces the threat of sudden shut-down resulting from problems within the family. For example, a domestic quarrel between uncles might result in the collapse of a matured family business where both the parties will finally decide to devide the business in to parts. Though each person of the family will suffer from such situation, this is the business operation that gets terminated. The problems from inflexibility in management and the risk of erruption of family-quarrel make it a less preferred method to run a business.

To conclude, operating business by families is not only an old trend, but also a ritual in many parts of the world. Such firms offer loyalty of the management team, on the contrary faces the scarcity of specialist skills and the risk of dissolution in short-notice.